25 Entries for 2019 AMDF Journalist of The Year Award

Africa Media Development Foundation (AMDF) has received 25 entries from Nigerian Journalists for its 2019 AMDF Journalist of the Year Award.

The Award which is the 3rd edition, was introduced in 2016 to honour journalism works that are professionally and ethically written by prospective Awardees. It was initially a closed process, until this year; AMDF changed the approach and announced call for entries from Nigerian Journalists.

The window for 2019 submission of entries was 1st – 30th September.

The 25 works collated for the 2019 are currently being assessed by a panel of 5 media experts selected from across the country.

Members of the Panel of Judges include;

Mr. Joseph Edegbo, Managing Editor, Africa Prime News, Kaduna, Nigeria – Chair of the Panel

Mrs. Sheba Tayo-Garbson, HOD Mass Comm, Fed Poly Nekede, Owerri, Imo State, Nigeria

Mrs. Miriam Menkiti, former Deputy Director News, FRCN/General Manager Radio Nigeria Purity FM Awka, Anambra State, Nigeria   

Mr. Andrew Fadason, Former Editor, New Nigerian Weekly, Kaduna, Nigeria

Mr. Bolaji Adepegba, Veteran Award-Winning Journalist, Media & Communications Specialist, Lagos, Nigeria

The Award will be presented at the 2019 African Conference on Development Journalism (#ACDJ 2019) slated for 10th – 12th December 2019 in Kaduna, Nigeria.

Past winners of the Award were Christiana Alabi of Daily Trust Newspapers in 2016, and Ibrahima Yakubu of Deutsche Welle Radio in 2017.