Established in 1995, the Rory Peck Awards uniquely celebrate the work of freelance cameramen and women in news and current affairs worldwide. These are the freelance video journalists, filmmakers and news camera operators who contribute so much to today’s international news gathering and to our understanding of the world. The awards showcase their outstanding work and demonstrate why they deserve recognition and support.

Entries to the 2019 Rory Peck Awards are currently invited in three categories:

  • Rory Peck Award for News (up to 10 mins)
  • Rory Peck Award for News Features (up to 20 mins)
  • Sony Impact Award for Current Affairs (up to 60 mins)


All entries must have been first broadcast between 1 June 2018 and 31 May 2019 inclusive. See Entry Criteria for full details and guidelines.

We welcome self-funded work and entries from freelancers living and working in regions where it may be difficult to operate.

The Rory Peck Awards are FREE to enter.

Closing date for entries: Wednesday 5 June 2019

For more information visit


Leave a Reply