Journalists reporting in conflict zones can be nominated for an award.

The Khaled Alkhateb Memorial Awards for Best Journalism from a Conflict Zone will honor the work of media professionals and organizations who strive to shed light on the complexities and ramifications of continuous war and armed conflict.

The awards were established by RT’s editor-in-chief Margarita Simonyan in memory of independent war correspondent Khaled Alkhateb, who was killed by an ISIS shell in 2017 in Syria.

The contest has three categories: short film, feature film and written report. Works must have been published or broadcast between Jan. 1, 2018 and May 1, 2019. Entries must be submitted with an English translation or subtitles.


Works must have been filmed in or written while reporting from a conflict zone.  A conflict zone is defined as an area currently experiencing continuous armed confrontation between two or more groups of people. It often involves governmental armed forces and private armed groups. According to the UN, a conflict zone has some or all of the following characteristics:

  • humanitarian suffering on an enormous scale
  • numerous armed factions
  • collapse of the civil infrastructure
  • absence of governance and legal system
  • absence of individual security
  • possibility of ethnic cleansing and genocide
  • large numbers of displaced civilians and refugees
  • unchallenged criminal activities


For reference, visit for current conflict zone areas according to IRIN (Integrated Regional Information Networks), a news agency providing independent analysis from hotspots in more than 70 countries. IRIN was originally founded as part of the UN’s Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs.

Please note, for the sake of these awards, to be defined as a conflict zone, the area must be facing a continuously reoccurring armed conflict.

The video or written piece must have been published on a media platform or by a media organization between 1st of January 2018 and 1st of May 2019.

  1. Applications are accepted in any language from any country.

This includes works by freelancers, alternative media, and independent journalism platforms.

  1. Submissions that were the result of a collaborative effort — either written or video — should include the names of the contributors with their respective titles.Submissions should then be made under the name(s) of one or two persons who, if the work is selected as a winner, will accept the award.
  2. All written works must be submitted with an English translation, and all video entries should have English subtitles.

For more information on English translation, see Technical Requirements.



  • Videos must be directly uploaded through the application system.
  • File size should not exceed 1 GB, even if the video is longer than 15 minutes.
  • If the original language is not English, English subtitles should be added to the original video with accurate timing. Any profanity should be made inaudible.
  • In addition to subtitles, a separate document with the video script — in the original language and in translated English — should be submitted in Word format.
  • A YouTube link to the video should be provided. If the video has not yet been uploaded to the YouTube platform, please do so before submitting your application.
  • When uploading your video to the YouTube platform, please be sure it meets the technical requirements specified HERE: Container Format: MP4, Video Codec: H.264, Audio Codec: AAC, Frames per Second (FPS): 25, 30, Video Resolution: 720p, Video Aspect Ratio: 16:9, Bitrate: 5 Mbps, Stereo Audio Bitrate: 384 kbps, Audio Bitrate (5.1): 512 kbps.



  • Written works should be submitted as a Word document.
  • If the original is not in English, an additional translated version of the piece should be submitted in Word format.
  • Submissions — whether a stand-alone piece or a compilation — cannot exceed 10,000 words.
  • If the piece is part of a continuing news story, a compilation of up to five stories can be submitted. To be considered a continuing news story, the series of reports must cover the same topic.



Deadline: All entries must be received by Monday, June 10 2019

Winners: Winners will be announced on July 30th 2019